Fishermen at historic Celilo Falls, now under the backwater of The Dalles dam.The portion of the original Yakama Nation territory ceded to the federal government in the Treaty of 1855 takes up almost a third of Washington State. The Ceded Area contains “usual and accustomed” places where the Treaty reserves the rights of tribal members to hunt, fish and collect plants for food, medicine and other traditional uses.

Within the Ceded Area, the Southern Territories include an area spanning the Little White Salmon River drainage in Skamania County to Switzler Canyon in Benton County. The YKFP is concerned with the health of the watersheds and their fish populations throughout the Southern Territories. View a map showing the watersheds in the YN Southern Territories in Washington state, or click one of the specific subbasins, below, for more information.

Wind River
Little White Salmon River
Rock Creek and eastern tributaries (Pine Cr., Chapman Cr., Wood Cr., Alder Cr., Glade Cr.)

Map of the Yakama Nation Ceded Area and Reservation